Php photo gallery TWG | JFUploader | TWG Flash upload | WFU | Forum

Get help for TinyWebGallery, the best image gallery. The forum is also home for the Joomla JFUploader, TWG Flash Uploader and the Wordpress flash uploader.
It is currently 21. Sep 2018, 13:47

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 7. Jan 2014, 02:26 
Offline

Joined: 6. Jan 2014, 23:47
Posts: 5
Hi Folks,

I just installed TWG, and it is beautiful in its simplicity. I have a few easy questions:

How do I set the storage location on the webserver for the images? I want to change the path from "pictures" to "media". This is not as simple as you might suspect...

Is webserver storage just a flat directory, or do new albums create a new directory? Conversely, will webserver directories translate into the equivalent of albums?

I have lots of hardcopy pictures that I will scan. How do I add the properties that are normally added by the camera? Can a specific photo be a member of more than one album?

Thanks for the help,

Chris.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 7. Jan 2014, 13:02 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 1. Aug 2005, 12:53
Posts: 10895
Hi,

you can simply set media as new picture directory in the config.

The structure in the pictures directory is the structure of your albums.
Also by default the directory name is the album name.

If you have exif/IPTC data you should read the howtos about this.
They all can be extracted and used for e.g. the picture name.

Best, Michael


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 7. Jan 2014, 19:03 
Offline

Joined: 6. Jan 2014, 23:47
Posts: 5
Hi Michael,

Thanks. How do I change and where do I find "config", so I can change "pictures" to "media". I grep'd around and I found no instances of the string "pictures" in any of the text files in the installation directory. I see a directory in the user preference, but how will a random browser know that I have changed "pictures" to "media"?

My "exif/IPTC" problem is the converse. I will scan pictures from hard-copy, so I don't have this, but I would like to create it. How do I do that?

Thanks very much for your help,

Chris.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 7. Jan 2014, 19:37 
Offline

Joined: 6. Jan 2014, 23:47
Posts: 5
Chris wrote:
Thanks. How do I change and where do I find "config", so I can change "pictures" to "media". I grep'd around and I found no instances of the string "pictures" in any of the text files in the installation directory. I see a directory in the user preference, but how will a random browser know that I have changed "pictures" to "media"?

... found it. xargs apparently has a problem with the apostrophe in the file name of one of the sample pictures.

So, now I think I understand everything you've told me. And I have a new question. My NAS includes a folder as a trashcan for accidental deletion recovery. I don't want it visible. Is there a way to exclude certain folders for the album list?

Thanks for the help,

Chris.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 7. Jan 2014, 19:54 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 1. Aug 2005, 12:53
Posts: 10895
Sure. Add it to the exclude folder list.

$exclude_directories[] = 'trashcan';

Search in config.php is your friend ;).

You should save the config like described here:
http://www.tinywebgallery.com/en/configuration.php 3.

Best, Michael


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 8. Jan 2014, 18:37 
Offline

Joined: 6. Jan 2014, 23:47
Posts: 5
Hi Michael,

Is "exclude_directories" global or specific to a given directory? Suppose, I did a study of urban environments and I spent a lot of time taking pictures of trash cans... (-: As you can tell, I already know that anything in config.php is going to be global and there is a need for global configuration as well as more focused mechanisms. What I am really asking is to learn if there is a more surgical mechanism, like being able to exclude certain files from a particular directory with one of the many customization mechanisms that are already available.

Thanks for the help,

Chris.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 8. Jan 2014, 19:39 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 1. Aug 2005, 12:53
Posts: 10895
All settings in the administration are global.

Folder specific settings can be made by placing a config.php into this folder.
Reading the summary howto does explain a lot ;).

Best, Michael


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
cron
powered by phpbb | Datenschutz/ Privacy policy